CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Cotswold Life today CLICK HERE

Review: Cinderella at the Roses Theatre

PUBLISHED: 12:08 04 January 2016

Cinderella at the Roses Theatre

Cinderella at the Roses Theatre

Archant

Christmas wouldn’t be the same without an annual trip to the pantomime and Cinderella did not disappoint.

The Roses Theatre has always been a great venue to watch a show, as the nearby parking is plentiful and there’s a lot to do in historic Tewkesbury if you fancy spending the day there beforehand. But this trip to the panto started with a tasty, hot latte in the theatres’ Cotteswold Coffee shop where the mood in the newly refurbished venue was jolly and the atmosphere was festive.

We were promptly ushered into the auditorium to take our seats before the performance and although the theatre was packed (there wasn’t an empty seat in sight), the chairs were surprisingly comfortable and the venue was toasty. The lights soon went out and the curtain went up as the performers took to the stage.

And what a show it was! From the current music choices, great singing voices and fantastic dance routines, to the laugh-out-loud jokes, spectacular costumes and colourful set design – Cinderella was a wonderful way to start the festive season.

Highlights of the show were the on-stage security (we had no idea Prince Charming’s bodyguard was so ferocious!), the sneaky bear in the woods (he’s behind you!) and the magical scene where Cinderella takes off for the ball in her horse and carriage. But the real stars were Beryl and Cheryl the evil stepsisters, who provided plenty of laughs throughout the performance and managed to embarrass lots of dads in the crowd in the process. They truly stole the show and it was wonderful to see the whole audience in fits of laughter.

Thanks to the Roses Theatre for a wonderful evening, we can’t wait for next year’s pantomime!

More from Cotswold Life

Friday, December 14, 2018

The Cotswolds are abundant with picture perfect locations ideal for a ramble. Gather loved ones, wrap up warm and blow away the cobwebs with one of these winter walks in the region

Read more
Friday, December 14, 2018

Helping clients through divorce, separation and disputes over children, we talk to 8 divorce lawyers in the Cotswolds

Read more
Friday, December 14, 2018

We’ve some extraordinary, and inspiring, women in business in the Cotswolds. We talk to 7 female trailblazers in local industry who offer the business advice they’ve lived by

Read more
Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Swan Lake. We know the music, we know the iconic imagery of the beautiful ballerina dressed as a swan, but I’m guessing that without reading the libretto in the program, most people don’t know the story. Which is why the audience relies on the dancers to tell us.

Read more
Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Tom and Louise are being joined by other new academic appointments that have been made as part of the RAU’s £2.5 million initiative to help meet the future needs of the land management and agri-food sectors

Read more
Wednesday, December 12, 2018

“To win this prestigious award is a real compliment to the wider team in Renishaw’s manufacturing services operation, particularly when we consider the achievements of the other excellent shortlisted companies.”

Read more
Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Stepping up to receive the world’s first MBA Leading Business degrees at the ceremony were Sarah Bryars, Chief Executive of Target; Luke Freeman, Joint Chief Executive of MF Freeman; and Linsey Temple, Chief Executive of Gloucestershire Engineering Training

Read more
Tuesday, December 11, 2018

“I am thrilled to see InfoSec People win this fantastic award which is a testament to the brilliant team we have built in the past few years.”

Read more
Tuesday, December 11, 2018

After a stress-free shopping experience browsing designer brands this Christmas? Look no further than the luxury offerings of Mailbox in Birmingham

Read more
Tuesday, December 11, 2018

This year sees the 40th anniversary of the publication of Raymond Briggs’ original picture book The Snowman. With three performances of the animated film – with live orchestra – coming to Gloucester Cathedral next month, we thought we’d catch up with Rachel Whibley, managing director of Carrot Productions (and occasional snowman), to find out more...

Read more
Monday, December 10, 2018

It’s the season of terrible puns, magic lamps, and generous genies: Aladdin, the all-new panto at the Everyman, has been written by none other than legendary Blue Peter presenter Peter Duncan, and stars everyone’s favourite clown, Tweedy. The Barnard family from Nailsworth - mum, dad, Harriet (12) and Lewis (6) - made a Wishee (Washee) for tickets; grabbed their car (Window Twan) keys; and dashed off to see A Ladd In Cheltenham

Read more
Monday, December 10, 2018

Crispy, frosty days and perhaps even a dusting of snow, winter is a magical time in the Cotswolds. If you’re thinking of tying the knot during this beautiful season in the region, here are six winter wedding ideas to help you start planning your special day

Read more

Christmas in the Wilson household is a heartwarming, traditional family affair

Read more
Monday, December 10, 2018

Tracy Spiers takes an impressive, if hypothetical, budget on a shopping spree in Cheltenham’s independent stores

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory A+ Education

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad


Local Business Directory

Search For a Car In Your Area

Property Search