CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Cotswold Life today CLICK HERE

REVIEW: Jesus Christ Superstar: until Saturday, March 29, 2014

01:50 26 March 2014

Jon Moses

Jon Moses


Candia McKormack reviews the opening night of Jesus Christ Superstar at Gloucester Cathedral

Gloucester Cathedral has given me some wonderful experiences over the years – breathtaking acrobatics by an Australian circus group for ‘How Like an Angel’; heart-achingly beautiful harmonies from the Mediaeval Baebes at the Winter Solstice; frighteningly beautiful sculptures as part of the Crucible exhibition; and the pure, unadulterated wonder of standing in the empty nave and cloisters and listening to the stories the ancient stone walls have to tell. And all this from someone who doesn’t ‘do’ religion.

The latest experience the Cathedral has offered up is in the form of tonight’s performance of Jesus Christ Superstar. As the Gloucester Operatic and Dramatic Society is celebrating its centenary this year, something special was on the cards, and blimey did they ever deliver.

The talented force of nature behind the production is producer and artistic director, Jerry Lane, who has pulled together something so mind-bogglingly ambitious that even he surely must have been wondering at one point what on earth he’d got himself into. The astonishing thing is that this is the very first time the musical has been performed in a cathedral and, added to that, it’s the largest production ever put on since it was penned by Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice over 40 years ago.

With an orchestra of 70-plus members, the soaring vocals of Worcester-based Voices Unlimited and a strong cast of principal players, we were treated to a dynamic performance by nearly 200 individuals, bringing their own distinctive slant on what must be one of the greatest musicals ever written.

Although the cavernous Cathedral space is undoubtedly a joy to be in, it is also something of a challenge for performers, with a ludicrously long delay time, creating a chasm of difference in timing between the sound the performer makes and that which returns to the ears. This must have been maddeningly confusing, but handled beautifully by the performers, who wove their way around the audience, along the nave and into the heights of the organ loft.

The principal roles of Jesus (Jon Moses), Judas Iscariot (Daniel Haslam) and Mary Magdalene (Ria Keen) were performed with great conviction and emotion; of particular note were the dizzying heights of the vocal ranges of the male leads who not only pulled off brilliant falsettos, but did so with such depth of feeling that it took a concerted effort on my behalf to unravel my angst-ridden brow. The tension between ‘Jesus’ and ‘Judas’ was palpable, and Ria Keen’s ‘Mary’ made a wonderful foil to the oh-so-male rivalry between the two ‘best friends’. Another standout performance for me was by Malcolm White, playing Pontius Pilate, whose voice ringing out from the pulpit was a joy to hear (incidentally, Malcolm will be playing the part of Sweeney Todd in a GODS production at Cheltenham’s Everyman Theatre in July). I also thoroughly enjoyed Tristian Dior’s performances, who went from portraying a guilt-ridden Peter to a completely faaabulous (count the ‘a’s) Herod in the time it takes you to say ‘born performer’.

As we all know the story of the last seven days of Jesus’ life, I’m in no danger of revealing a spoiler, but the startlingly brilliant way Act II was delivered – including Judas’ suicide and the crucifixion – is not short of a complete triumph. There was certainly a stunned silence throughout the packed cathedral audience… and I don’t doubt a tear or two.

With a beautifully played musical score, and emotionally-driven performances from the entire cast, I would urge you to experience GODS’ own Jesus Christ Superstar for yourself.


Jesus Christ Superstar runs until Saturday, March 29 at Gloucester Cathedral. Tickets range from £15 to £50 (VIP ticket, including drinks reception ‘meet and greet’, complimentary programme and best seats), and are available by calling 0845 652 1823 or visiting


  • I saw this production last night after eagerly waiting for the opening night and I was amazed! The review totally reflects what has been achieved here! GODS have been around for many years and have firmly earned their place as one of the countries oldest amateur dramatic societies. I am certain they feel over the moon to be able to perform this production in their 100th year. Even more humbling for the leading professional cast to have given up their valuable time to participate in this historic event. Well done.

    Report this comment


    Wednesday, March 26, 2014

  • Beautifully-written & very vivid write-up - thanks Candia, sounds like you really enjoyed this event! :-)

    Report this comment

    Steve Cann

    Wednesday, March 26, 2014

The views expressed in the above comments do not necessarily reflect the views of this site

More from Cotswold Life

Fri, 17:12

Slaving over a turkey crown, brussel sprouts that look disappointingly limp whatever you do to them, and mountains of crockery to wash up, Christmas lunch is no easy task. Whether you’re hoping for a leisurely Christmas Day lunch or a luxurious festive break away, why not try one of these 14 charming Cotswold spots for a stress-free way to celebrate Christmas

Read more
Tue, 10:19

Enjoy mulled wine and Christmas biscuits with our compliments whilst shopping.

Read more
Mon, 15:42

Sometimes made to measure furniture can transform your home. Whether it is a bespoke kitchen, a fitted wardrobe or, a freestanding piece in your perfect finish that just fits that space finding someone to realise your dreams can be a challenge but needn’t be as expensive as you fear.

Read more
Mon, 14:37

As befits a country pub with a strong horse racing theme, The Jockey Inn at Baughton has galloped over the finishing line to win a prestigious national food award.

Read more
Mon, 14:20

Afternoon tea something of an institution in the Cotswolds, and in recent years has seen a surge in popularity. Once a preserve of the rich and wealthy, more people are now switching to afternoon tea as an alternative way to spend an afternoon than the usual pubs or restaurants. But what constitutes the perfect afternoon tea?

Read more

On a crisp, autumnal day, there is nothing better than gathering the family for a stroll amongst some of the most colourful woodland the Cotswolds has to offer. We’ve accumulated a list of our favourite places to catch the majority of this season’s golden hues.

Read more
Mon, 14:01

With a fantastic line-up, breathtaking BMX antics and plenty of family friendly events, Lakefest 2016 was a hit for Pamela Hudson and family

Read more
Mon, 13:50

The weekend is fast approaching and for those still deciding how to spend their Friday through to Sunday, we pick 5 of the best ways to spend your weekend in the Cotswolds

Read more
Mon, 13:45

We spoke with Richard Smith from Classic Lodges, who manages Charingworth Manor in the Cotswolds, to find out what sort of things you should look for when choosing a wedding venue.

Read more
Thursday, October 13, 2016

There’s never been a better time to move out of London to the Home Counties, Oxfordshire, and the Cotswolds. The County Homesearch Company can help you make that move.

Read more
Thursday, October 13, 2016

Receive a free copy of Adam Palmer & Vicki Edgeson’s latest book ‘Gutgastronomy’ with every booking for Ladies Who Lunch cookery Masterclass.

Read more
Wednesday, October 12, 2016

The Wharf House Tasting Menu, originally £52.99 is now only £39.99.

Read more
Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Daylesford’s Christmas Fair in the Cotswolds returns on November 7 for visitors to do their Christmas shopping while helping others

Read more
Monday, October 10, 2016

We look through the keyhole of some of the Cotswolds’ most luxurious houses on the property market

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Family Business Awards link

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory
A+ Education

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad
Cotswold Life Application Link

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook

Local Business Directory

Cotswold's trusted business finder

Job search in your local area

Search For a Car In Your Area

Property Search