<div style="display:inline;"> <img height="1" width="1" style="border-style:none;" alt="" src="//googleads.g.doubleclick.net/pagead/viewthroughconversion/1028731116/?value=0&amp;guid=ON&amp;script=0">
13 ISSUES FOR £24 Subscribe to Cotswold Life today click here

REVIEW: Jesus Christ Superstar: until Saturday, March 29, 2014

PUBLISHED: 01:50 26 March 2014 | UPDATED: 14:52 01 April 2014

Jon Moses

Jon Moses

Archant

Candia McKormack reviews the opening night of Jesus Christ Superstar at Gloucester Cathedral

Gloucester Cathedral has given me some wonderful experiences over the years – breathtaking acrobatics by an Australian circus group for ‘How Like an Angel’; heart-achingly beautiful harmonies from the Mediaeval Baebes at the Winter Solstice; frighteningly beautiful sculptures as part of the Crucible exhibition; and the pure, unadulterated wonder of standing in the empty nave and cloisters and listening to the stories the ancient stone walls have to tell. And all this from someone who doesn’t ‘do’ religion.

The latest experience the Cathedral has offered up is in the form of tonight’s performance of Jesus Christ Superstar. As the Gloucester Operatic and Dramatic Society is celebrating its centenary this year, something special was on the cards, and blimey did they ever deliver.

The talented force of nature behind the production is producer and artistic director, Jerry Lane, who has pulled together something so mind-bogglingly ambitious that even he surely must have been wondering at one point what on earth he’d got himself into. The astonishing thing is that this is the very first time the musical has been performed in a cathedral and, added to that, it’s the largest production ever put on since it was penned by Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice over 40 years ago.

With an orchestra of 70-plus members, the soaring vocals of Worcester-based Voices Unlimited and a strong cast of principal players, we were treated to a dynamic performance by nearly 200 individuals, bringing their own distinctive slant on what must be one of the greatest musicals ever written.

Although the cavernous Cathedral space is undoubtedly a joy to be in, it is also something of a challenge for performers, with a ludicrously long delay time, creating a chasm of difference in timing between the sound the performer makes and that which returns to the ears. This must have been maddeningly confusing, but handled beautifully by the performers, who wove their way around the audience, along the nave and into the heights of the organ loft.

The principal roles of Jesus (Jon Moses), Judas Iscariot (Daniel Haslam) and Mary Magdalene (Ria Keen) were performed with great conviction and emotion; of particular note were the dizzying heights of the vocal ranges of the male leads who not only pulled off brilliant falsettos, but did so with such depth of feeling that it took a concerted effort on my behalf to unravel my angst-ridden brow. The tension between ‘Jesus’ and ‘Judas’ was palpable, and Ria Keen’s ‘Mary’ made a wonderful foil to the oh-so-male rivalry between the two ‘best friends’. Another standout performance for me was by Malcolm White, playing Pontius Pilate, whose voice ringing out from the pulpit was a joy to hear (incidentally, Malcolm will be playing the part of Sweeney Todd in a GODS production at Cheltenham’s Everyman Theatre in July). I also thoroughly enjoyed Tristian Dior’s performances, who went from portraying a guilt-ridden Peter to a completely faaabulous (count the ‘a’s) Herod in the time it takes you to say ‘born performer’.

As we all know the story of the last seven days of Jesus’ life, I’m in no danger of revealing a spoiler, but the startlingly brilliant way Act II was delivered – including Judas’ suicide and the crucifixion – is not short of a complete triumph. There was certainly a stunned silence throughout the packed cathedral audience… and I don’t doubt a tear or two.

With a beautifully played musical score, and emotionally-driven performances from the entire cast, I would urge you to experience GODS’ own Jesus Christ Superstar for yourself.

*******

Jesus Christ Superstar runs until Saturday, March 29 at Gloucester Cathedral. Tickets range from £15 to £50 (VIP ticket, including drinks reception ‘meet and greet’, complimentary programme and best seats), and are available by calling 0845 652 1823 or visiting http://tickets.gloucestercathedral.org.uk/admitone/event.php?_evt=GC35

2 comments

  • I saw this production last night after eagerly waiting for the opening night and I was amazed! The review totally reflects what has been achieved here! GODS have been around for many years and have firmly earned their place as one of the countries oldest amateur dramatic societies. I am certain they feel over the moon to be able to perform this production in their 100th year. Even more humbling for the leading professional cast to have given up their valuable time to participate in this historic event. Well done.

    Report this comment

    PCharles

    Wednesday, March 26, 2014

  • Beautifully-written & very vivid write-up - thanks Candia, sounds like you really enjoyed this event! :-)

    Report this comment

    Steve Cann

    Wednesday, March 26, 2014

The views expressed in the above comments do not necessarily reflect the views of this site

More from Cotswold Life

Yesterday, 14:19

Cotswold designers, growers and artists have picked up medals across this year’s RHS Chelsea Flower Show

Read more
Yesterday, 10:42

Walk in the footsteps of Cider with Rosie author, Laurie Lee, as you explore the glorious Slad valley, ending up at his favourite local, The Woolpack

Read more
Yesterday, 10:41

If captivating grade-listed buildings with landscaped gardens are your thing, you’ve come to the right place. We pick 10 of the most beautiful and awe-inspiring stately homes you simply need to visit this year

Read more
Yesterday, 10:38

Once the preserve of high society, an afternoon tea is now widely available in cafes, tearooms and restaurants across the UK. This is no less true in the Cotswolds. We pick 19 of the best places to enjoy this indulgent treat in the region

Read more
Mon, 16:36

The weekend is fast approaching and for those still deciding how to spend their Friday through to Sunday, we pick 5 of the best ways to spend your weekend in the Cotswolds

Read more

Are you one of the million-plus viewers tuning into the new BBC mockumentary This Country? Filmed in Northleach, it follows cousins Kerry and Kurtan as they battle the lows and the even-lowers of growing up in the rural Cotswolds... Boredom, unemployment, petty crime, and constantly bumping into Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen in the Coop. Katie Jarvis meets This Country’s creators, Daisy and Charlie Cooper

Read more
Mon, 11:40

The 13th Quenington Sculpture Show will take place from June 11 to July 2 at The Old Rectory, Cirencester

Read more
Mon, 10:56

Guests can expect afternoon tea, Prosecco and live classical music in the beautiful grounds of Mallory Court, Leamington Spa on Monday May 29. The event will celebrate the 90 years National Gardens Scheme charities have dedicated to UK palliative care

Read more
Friday, May 19, 2017

Giffords Circus – Any Port in a Storm, 2017 tour, at Sudeley Castle, Winchcombe, Gloucestershire

Read more
Friday, May 19, 2017

We look through the keyhole of some of the Cotswolds’ most luxurious houses on the property market

Read more
Friday, May 19, 2017

“We mere mortals have grudgingly accepted that we may have to work until we’re 75; Prince Philip is 95. He has more than earned what we dearly hope will be a long and healthy retirement.”

Read more
Thursday, May 18, 2017

They say Cirencester is the capital of the Cotswolds but the quintessential villages that adorn the northern half of the region are equally as beautiful. In no particular order, we pick 10 of the prettiest north Cotswold villages you need to explore

Read more
Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Renishaw’s hot air balloon, G-RENI, has participated in a successful world record attempt for the largest number of hot air balloons to cross the English Channel

Read more
Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Open to all regions, members and non-members, are welcome to attend this fantastic visit to the Manufacturing Technology Centre in Coventry organised by Circle2Success

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory
A+ Education

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad
Cotswold Life Application Link

Local Business Directory

Cotswold's trusted business finder

Job search in your local area



Search For a Car In Your Area

Property Search